RSS Feed

Making it ours

It certainly doesn’t seem like only 4 months since our family moved into our very first oh-my-god-is-this-really-ours house when I think about all we’ve accomplished in that time. We somehow managed to paint the walls and ceilings in the living room, dining room, kitchen, hall, and guest room. We refinished no less than 6 pieces of furniture. We re-insulated the attic, installed a plywood floor for storage space, and added a pull-down ladder for easy access. We framed out one previously unframed open doorway and updated the rest of the trim in the kitchen. We also installed a new tile backsplash in the kitchen and while we were at it decided to update the old ugly outlets and switches. All that on top of your standard moving in and hanging up pictures. And with a 1-year-old thwarting us every step of the way. Good times.

Bug striking the ever-appropriate "raar" pose with our SOLD sign

Thankfully, we did have help from my Dad to knock out some of the more grueling tasks, but our families live far away and it’s all on us now. I’m getting tired just thinking about it.

Psychotically, I still have quite the list of projects ahead, and of course I have a few banked that I’ll be blogging very soon. In the meantime, check out all the awesome things that inspire me on Pinterest.

About thefamilyski

I'm a wife and mom who's always had a passion for creating. It doesn't matter what the project is, I just can't abide idle hands, or more accurately, an idle mind. Before I even finish a current project my brain is plotting the next five. My husband will one day learn not to be so skeptical about my plans because it (almost) always works out. I draw lots of inspiration from other blogs and the glorious timesuck that is Pinterest and hope that my projects can serve to inspire someone else.

Leave a Reply

